DIY, Home Decor, Thrifty Finds, design,

Christmas in October

Ladies and gentlemen, it is October 30th and I spent this weekend doing all sorts of Christmas-y things. During the week I ordered a second Christmas tree. I really thought I needed a tree in the dining room and also one in the living room. Let’s face it, I need one in every room of my house because I absolutely LOVE Christmas. But, 2 is good enough for me (for now)

That purchase set the tone for the rest of my week. On Saturday, my friend and I attended a craft fair right here on base. I love craft fairs and bazaars. It was full of Christmas. One vendor in particular had the CUTEST stuff. She sells on Etsy and is local here to me in North Carolina. Take a look:

img_8928

The Coral Anchor  has adorable items, and she has an etsy shop! She sells door hangers, wall hangers, picture frames, ornaments, monograms, and wooden signs. Go give her some love! 

I fell in love with one of her pieces and The Kemp House officially has a Christmas door hanger. I’m not putting it up until after Thanksgiving, but look how cutefullsizerender-2

I made the purchase in the morning, so the rest of the day was spent Christmas decor shopping. I didn’t buy much because I’m still planning out how I want to decorate the inside of the house. I love gold/white Christmas decorations but I also love the classic red/green combination. You all will have to stay tuned to when I officially put up the decorations 🙂


 

Deal Of The Day

Kirklands had an amazing deal on their “Spin to Win” app. I spun a 25% OFF ENTIRE PURCHASE. Which I can combine with the 10% military discount. That’s 35% OFF!

So I bought this adorable ceramic ornament. I just had to have it!

FullSizeRender.jpg

Originally $29.99

I paid $19.50! (pre-tax) Score!


Sunday DIY

Since I was in the Christmas spirit, I decided to DIY a little bit. I had some leftover 2x4s in the garage from a previous project. So I decided to cut them and make them into a Christmas craft.

img_8934

I only used one of the long ones for this project. I cut three 7 in pieces, 3 4 in pieces, and one 5 in piece. painted, sanded, and used a stencil to paint “believe”

Here is the finished product:

fullsizerender-1

My very first Christmas craft is complete. The best part is that it was completely free!

So can I put my Christmas tree up now?

-DK

Leave a Reply

